Categories
Alumni

Telephone diplomacy: Dialling the ‘red line’ [A historical journey #8]

Update

Missed the event? Read/Watch/Listen/Discover

Thursday, 30th September | 12:00 UTC (08:00 EDT | 14:00 CEST | 20:00 CST)

In our September episode of History of Diplomacy and Technology, we will talk about diplomacy and the invention of the telephone and wireless communication.

Telephone scene from 'Dr Strangelove' movie

The telephone facilitated a close contact among heads of state, including various ‘red lines’ for urgent communication, while wireless communication,  mainly the radio, was used by countries which didn’t develop telegraph infrastructures on time (mainly Germany) to close the gap with those who did. (e.g. the United Kingdom).

Diplomatic issues raised in international policy surrounding telephone and wireless communication, such as security, privacy, and neutrality, are still discussed today in the context of digital policy.

Join us for a new Masterclass with Jovan Kurbalija: ‘Telephone diplomacy: Dialling the ‘red line’, on Thursday, September 30th at 14:00 CEST.