Categories
IFDT

Science Diplomacy in 2022: More Cooperation or More Division? (WebDebate #54)

Date: Tuesday, 5th April, 13:00 UTC (09:00 EDT | 15:00 CEST | 21:00 CST)

Science diplomacy offers many tools to foster collaboration among states and other stakeholders. In this way, the practice can lead to increased mutual understanding and ultimately to more peaceful international relations. 

History is full of examples of unexpected cooperation between rival countries. Despite the ongoing Cold War and the ‘space race’ between the USA and the Soviet Union, the two countries also managed to cooperate in space, leading to the famous ‘Apollo–Soyuz handshake’. Another more recent example is SESAME (Synchrotron-Light for Experimental Science and Applications in the Middle East), an experimental facility in Jordan, whose founding members include Bahrain, Cyprus, Egypt, Iran, Israel, Pakistan, the Palestinian Authority, and Turkey. 

Yet, practitioners and scholars have pointed out that science diplomacy does not automatically lead to more peaceful relations between countries, and that international cooperation to reach common goals cannot be taken for granted. 

Together with our speakers, Dr Kimberly Montgomery (Director of International Affairs and Science Diplomacy, American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS)) and Mr Alexis Roig (CEO, SciTech DiploHub), we want to unpack this debate and explore expectations for 2022. We will discuss:

  • What are the current trends in science diplomacy?
  • What actors, topics, and challenges are becoming more relevant in 2022?
  • Will we see more cooperation or more divisions? 
  • What/how can the practice of science diplomacy contribute to cooperation across divides and even in the face of conflict?

 Join us on Tuesday, 5th April, at 13:00 UTC (09:00 EDT | 15:00 CEST | 21:00 CST).

Speakers

Dr Kimberly Montgomery (Director of International Affairs and Science Diplomacy, American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS))

Mr Alexis Roig (CEO, SciTech DiploHub)

Moderator

Dr Katharina E. Höne (Director of Research, Diplo)

About our WebDebates

Our WebDebates on the future of diplomacy are live-streamed on the first Tuesday of every month. They are organised by Diplo within the framework of the International Forum on Diplomatic Training (IFDT). Learn more about our WebDebates series.