Enhancing International Scientific Cooperation: Arctic Science and Technology Advice with Ministries

International scientific cooperation is fundamental to the implementation of the seventeen United Nations Sustainable Development Goals, involving science and decisionmaking institutions involved with governance mechanisms and built structures. The changing Arctic has increasingly important global consequences, generating strategies that involve Arctic and non-Arctic States along with Indigenous Peoples’ Organizations to enhance international cooperation with science.

Research and action contributions with science in the Arctic are highlighted by the 2017 Agreement on Enhancing International Arctic Scientific Cooperation that is binding among the eight Arctic states and the Arctic Science Ministerial (ASM) process that began in 2016 among Arctic and non-Arctic states with Arctic Indigenous Peoples’ Organizations. This holistic (international, interdisciplinary and inclusive) project will address the inevitable question:

What are the relationships and synergies between the Arctic Science Ministerial (ASM) process and the 2017 Arctic Science Agreement, both of which involve ministries and science?

The theme of this project funded by the Ministry of Foreign Affairs of Japan is Enhancing International Scientific Cooperation: Arctic Science and Technology Advice with Ministries and will consist of 3 integrated webinars that are each framed around questions:

  • First Webinar: What is Arctic Science? – 21 February, 2022, at 13:00 GMT (04:00 AK / 07:00 CST / 08:00 EST / 14:00 CET/ 15:00 EET / 16:00 Moscow / 22:00 Japan).
  • Second Webinar: How can science transform data into evidence for informed decisionmaking? – 10 March, 2022, at 13:00 GMT (04:00 AK / 07:00 CST / 08:00 EST / 14:00 CET/ 15:00 EET / 16:00 Moscow / 22:00 Japan).
  • Third Webinar: What international efforts/processes are needed to facilitate progress in understanding the Arctic system and its global impacts? – 24 March, 2022, at 13:00 GMT (04:00 AK / 07:00 CST / 08:00 EST / 14:00 CET/ 15:00 EET / 16:00 Moscow / 22:00 Japan).